Fujifilm x10 Sample images from a busy weekend

Over this past weekend I carried the X10 around with me most of the time, either in the glovebox of the car, in my jacket pocket or, while on my bike, around my neck (quite comfortable too).

This post is by necessity a little loaded with jargon all of which will make a great deal of sense after a short training session!

100 iso !/850 at f2.8

100 iso

Adobe Camera Raw won’t decode the X10 raw files until the next update in a few months time and the bundled Silkypix is truly horrible. So they were all saved as jpegs, with all their limitations.

400 iso 1/800 at f2.2 (I Know!)

The lens cap still annoys me.  I can’t wander around with the camera on standby with the lens cap on. It only fits when the camera is fully turned off. Perhaps I need to source a pinch style  cap that fits into the tiny approx 40mm filter threads. Another option would be a slimline MC UV filter of a size to fit the threaded recess.

Image quality is consistently even with the  extended dynamic range mode (DR200) really helping with many of the pictures below including the portraits which include sunlit areas. Low-iso sharpness is not as good as I’d hoped, noticeably less sharp than the Canon G10 but then again the lens is 1-2 stops faster and corner to corner sharpness is more consistent on the X10.

Images are from a cycle ride along the Thames and a brief visit to the old dears!  The camera always responded quickly and in true sub-Cartier-Bresson style, the moment was captured.

400 iso 1/150 at f2.5

I spent little or no time fussing with the controls, the images being shot on P for the most part and at ISOs 200, 400 and 800 as required. The pictures although not raw files were put through Adobe Camera Raw to adjust tones and colour followed by a little cropping and editing as required.

100 iso 1/1000 at f2.8

200 iso 1/120 at f2.5

"Granny" (200 iso 1/25 at f2.5)

This entry was posted in Creative photography, News, reviews and deals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment